CHARTER OF THE IAA/IISL SCIENTIFIC-LEGAL LIAISON COMMITTEE adopted at Fukuoka on 15 October 2005 amended on 16 November 2010

Purpose and scope of the Committee

The Committee shall foster the communication between the legal and the scientific-technical fields on issues of mutual interest in the realm of astronautics. It shall also ensure a close cooperation between IAA and IISL.

Relationship to other Bodies and Organisations

The Committee will closely work in particular with IAA Commission V.

The Committee will also work with other relevant organisations outside IAA and IISL.

Procedure

The Committee meets at least once during the annual IACs. The Chairpersons, through the Secretary, invite to these meetings. If possible, the Committee can also meet during the spring meetings of IAF/IAA/IISL in Paris. At least one fourth of Active Members present at the meeting will constitute quorum. The Committee will make all efforts to reach its decisions by consensus.

Membership

Membership of the Committee should reflect its interdisciplinary character. Membership has to be recruited from IAA and IISL. All four Sections of IAA should be represented. The Committee should limit its active membership to 20 persons.

Outgoing active members can be named Honorary Members and will still have the possibility to attend the meetings of the Committee or keep contacts with it.

Members will be appointed by consensus of the participants to the Committee meetings, subject to the approval by the Presidents of IAA and IISL. The term of Members, as well as the term of officers of the Committee is three years. Re-appointment is possible.

The two Chairpersons and the Secretary are appointed by the Presidents of IAA and IISL.

Products

The Committee will organize Scientific-Legal Roundtables at IAC on an annual basis. These Roundtables will be promoted through IAA Commission V and be part of their respective symposia. They will also be coordinated with IISL. The proceedings of the Roundtables will be published in the IISL proceedings.

The Committee will through its Secretary maintain a site in the IAA Webpage.

The Committee may also organize symposia or other meetings in inter-session periods between the IACs. The Committee may cooperate with other committees and Study Groups by participating in the elaboration of joint papers and holding joint meetings. The Committee reports on its activities to IAA through Commission V.

Membership with status 2010: Kai-Uwe Schrogl and Wendell Mendell (Co-Chairs), Nicola Rohner Willsch (Secretary); Frans von der Dunk, Petr Lala, Pierre Molette, Lubos Perek, Rainer Sandau, Masahiko Sato, Bernhard Schmidt-Tedd, Leslie-Jane Smith, Mathias Spude; ex officio: Tanja Masson-Zwaan (IISL President) and Jean-Michel Contant (IAA Secretary General).