The situation related to the Covid-19 virus obliges us to modify the schedule of all Academy meetings as follows: 71st International Astronautical Congress, Virtual meeting, 12-14 October, 2020 3rd IAA/AAS SciTech Forum Moscow, Russia rescheduled 08-11 December, 2020 7th annual Space Traffic Management conference, Virtual meeting, 26-27 January, 2021 IAA Academy Day and 43rd COSPAR Scientific Assembly, Sydney, Australia rescheduled 28 January, 2021 1st IAA African Symposium on Small Satellites Stellenbosch, South Africa rescheduled 10-13 May, 2021 3rd Conference Space Situational Awareness (ICSSA), Madrid, Spain, 13-15 September, 2021 IAA Academy Day and International Astronautical Congress Dubai, EAU, rescheduled 24 October, 2021 We apologize for this exceptional situation and hope you will understand.

  • April 12, 2020
The Space Security and Safety (SSS) Program at the University of Texas at Austin’s Strauss Center, and the Cockrell School of Engineering, in partnership with the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), Lockheed Martin, and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics(AIAA), held the 6th annual Space Traffic Management conference, “Facing the Security Challenge.” The conference took place on Wednesday, February 19, 2020, and Thursday, February 20 at the University of Texas at Austin. The conference was organized by Daniel Porras (United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research Space Security Fellow), SSS Program Lead Dr. Moriba Jah, and non-resident SSS scholar Diane Howard. Experts from all over the world gathered to discuss and exchange on space traffic management. Technical sessions were devoted to several topics like Range Management, Airspace/Orbital Space Integration, Space Safety, Security, and Sustainability, Space Environment Effects and Impacts and Related Issues.
  • February 19, 2020

GAUSS and the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) are pleased to report that the 5th edition of the IAA Conference on University Satellite Missions and CubeSat Workshop took place on January 28-31, 2020 in Rome. The Conference dedicated to CubeSats technology was organized by GAUSS Srl and sponsored by the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), European Space Agency (ESA) and American Astronautical Society (AAS). The Conference offered technical sessions on launch opportunities for universities, ground segment operations, space debris, new perspectives in microsatellites application and several presentations dedicated to CubeSats missions, and on interplanetary missions especially to Mars.

Photo: From left to the right: Jean-Michel Contant, France, Leonardo Mazzini, Italy and Filippo Graziani, Italy.

  • January 28, 2020
The 1st IAA-ISRO-ASI Symposium on Human Spaceflight Programme was held on January 22-24, 2020 in Bangalore, India. Experts from all over the world gathered to discuss and exchange on the main theme of the conference: Human Spaceflight and Exploration – Present Challenges and Future Trends.
  • January 22, 2020
The ICSSA 2020 conference was held in the Hilton Arlington, in Washington D.C., USA on January 14-16, 2020. This conference is intended to raise awareness of the growing problem of orbital debris and develop mitigation strategies. 62 people from 10 countries were in attendance, with the furthest traveling from Egypt, India, and the Republic of Korea. This conference was very successful, and many interesting ideas were shared. Increased international cooperation between countries is the goal of the next conference, scheduled to be held in 2021.
  • January 14, 2020
A Focus Group Discussion Meeting on the Future of STEAM for Space took place at MIT, Cambridge on October 28, 2019. The focus group meeting was organized and chaired under the auspices of the International Academy of Astronautics by Prof. Dr. Liya Regel (Chair, IAA Study Group “STEAM for Space”) with the essential help of the office of Prof. Dr. Wesley Harris (NAE, IAA), AeroAstro Department at MIT. The Focus Group meeting brought together the fresh eyes of representatives from different organizations and countries. It showed the way to create novel approaches to advance STEAM for Space, and to make important steps in recognizing the importance of STEAM for education in general. Participants and guests received a special invitation for the one-day meeting, including a campus and lab tour, impressive poster presentations on research by MIT AeroAstro Department graduate students, and more.
  • October 28, 2019