The 8th IAA Planetary Defense Conference took place in Vienna, Austria on 3-7 April 2023 at the Vienna International Centre and the Austrian Academy of Sciences, in cooperation with ESA, the Commission for Geosciences of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and UNOOSA. Photo: Planetary Defense Conference 2023 participants, group picture.

The IAA Board of Trustees held its 125th meeting in Paris, France on March 28, 2023 at the IAA Headquarters. Photo: Athena Coustenis (France), Elena Fomina (Russia), John Schumacher (USA), Chrysoula Kourtidou-Papadeli (Greece), Ralph McNutt (USA), Jean-Michel Contant (France), Marius-Ioan Piso (Romania), Shigeki Kinai (Japan), Olivier Contant (France), Miguel Bello-Mora (Spain), Lev Zelenyi (Russia) and Junichiro Kawaguchi (Japan).

IAA Newly Elected Corresponding Members and Full Members together with IAA Section 1 Book Award recipient received their certificates on Monday 27 March 2023 in Paris, France during the IAA Award Dinner ceremony. Photo: IAA Vice-President Finance Shigeki Kinai (Japan), IAA President John Schumacher (USA), IAA Member Section 2 Paolo Gaudenzi (italy), IAA Vice-President Awards & Membership Chrysoula Kourtidou-Papadeli (Greece), IAA Vice-President Scientific Activities Marius-Ioan Piso (Romania), IAA Member Section 4 Takashi Maemura (Japan), IAA Section 1 Chair Ralph McNutt (USA), IAA Book Award Section 1 Claudio Maccone (Italy), IAA Corresponding Member Section 2 Tiago Rebelo (Portugal), IAA Member Section 2 Vesselin Vassilev (Bulgaria), IAA Corresponding Member Section 2 Elcio Jeronimo de Oliveira (Brazil), IAA Corresponding Member Section 2 Valery Aksamentov (USA), IAA Corresponding Member Section 2 Jean-Marie Betermier (France) and IAA Secretary General Jean-Michel Contant (France).

IAA meetings schedule is available:  please visit Events / IAA meetings / Spring meetings Online and hybrid meetings to be held at IAA Headquarters

Upon invitation of the European Space Agency, the International Academy of Astronautics celebrated the 2022 Laurels for Team Achievement to the Ariane 5 Team Europe for James Webb Space Telescope Launch on 27 January 2023. The IAA Vice-President Scientific Activities Marius-Ioan Piso was present with the Trustee Engineering Sciences Daniel Neuenschwander, Director of Space Transportation at ESA. Photo: Ariane 5 Team Europe team members, group picture.